New  St Andrew's  Parish  Church

Church Street

Scottish Charity SC013521

About Us

Come in and learn about the Lord and His love

The Church of Scotland is Trinitarian in doctrine, Reformed in tradition and Presbyterian in policy.  It exists to glorify God and to work for the advancement of Christ’s Kingdom throughout the world. As a national Church, it acknowledges a distinctive call and duty to bring the ordinances of religion to the people in every parish of Scotland through a territorial ministry. It co-operates with other Churches in various ecumenical bodies in Scotland and beyond.
The church is well attended with a good spread of age groups although a fair number could be classed as older. Regular worship takes place on Sunday mornings at 11am with a fairly traditional format. There is a Sunday School which attends for part of the service and then goes out to do its own activities.  This means that the first part of the service is more geared to youngsters but is well received by young and old alike.  The service generally lasts about an hour with the main diet of worship and praise coming from the CH4 hymnbook.  We have purchased a Christian Copyright Licence which does allow us to use praise from alternative hymnbooks and this is generally well received.  We follow the Christian Year and have special Sundays for different festivals and themes.
In addition to the weekly Sunday morning service we have evening or afternoon services on some Sundays in the year, some of which are of a less traditional format and are organised and led by a group of church members who are guided by the minister.  Formal communion services are held on the first Sunday of March, June and September and on the last Sunday in November with informal communions being held following the 11am service on one Sunday of some other months.

Services are held at other times, sometimes in conjunction with other Church of Scotland congregations and sometimes with churches of other denominations.
Governing Document

The Church is administered in accordance with the terms of the Church of Scotland Model Deed of Constitution.

Recruitment and Appointment of Trustees

Members of the Kirk Session and the Congregational Board are the charity’s trustees.  The Kirk Session members are the elders of the church and are chosen from those members of the church who are considered to have the appropriate gifts and skills.  

The minister, who is a member of the Kirk Session, is elected by the congregation and inducted by Presbytery.  

Under the terms of the Model Deed of Constitution and the Basis of Union that led to the formation of the charity, the Congregational Board comprises up to 40 elders appointed by the Kirk Session and up to 32 members elected by the congregation with the number of elected members never to exceed the number of elders.  Members of the congregation are invited to nominate individuals who are believed to have the skills and commitment to contribute to the management affairs of the Church, to become members of the Board. Board Members are then appointed at the Stated Annual Meeting or co-opted between Stated Annual Meetings and confirmed at the next Stated Annual Meeting.  Board Members serve for a period of three years after which they must seek re-election at the next Stated Annual Meeting if they wish to remain on the Congregational Board.

The Kirk Session appoints the Session Clerk.  The Clerk to the Congregational Board and the Treasurer are elected by the Congregational Board.

Organisational Structure

The Kirk Session which has five scheduled meetings per year is responsible for spiritual affairs within the church and in the parish.  The Kirk Session appoints appropriate committees from time to time which carry out specific activities, for example, oversight of the uniformed organisations.

Kirk Session elders visit and, along with the Minister, support the members of the congregation particularly in times of need.

The Congregational Board is chaired by the Minister and has five scheduled meetings per year. Certain responsibilities are delegated to the Finance Committee and the Property Committee as appropriate.